Soroptimists install new board of directors

    Soroptimist International of Indian Rock, Inc. (SIIR) installed it’s 2023-2024 board of directors in the presence of most of its 72 members at the Spring Mill Country Club in Ivyland on May 3rd.

    Eileen Conner, past president, led the installation, impressing the new officers with their responsibilities and importance of their work. In turn, each officer re-dedicated themselves to the club’s mission and goals, with the objective of inspiring members to further the work of the organization.

    She explained, “The SIIR board’s work is to inspire and engage its members in carrying out its mission to provide women and girls with access to the education and training they need to achieve economic empowerment. We want all members to be passionate about that work.”

    The organization’s mission is achieved primarily through two programs. Live Your Dream Education and Training Awards provides cash grants to single mothers and domestic abuse survivors so they can achieve their educational goals, reach their full potential and live their dreams. Dream It, Be It: Career Support for Girls gives high-school aged girls of all socio-economic backgrounds the information and resources they need to overcome their obstacles and achieve their education and career goals.

    Other activities and programs the club operates include their scholarships for high school seniors; the Share a Dream collection of basic household necessities for single mothers restarting after rehab, domestic abuse, or homelessness; Helping Hand Emergency Fund grants for women experiencing a crisis while struggling financially; and Holiday Help for Families fulfillment of wish list gifts for children of families in financial distress during the Christmas season.

    For more information about SIIR, membership, programs, awards and scholarships, visit

    PHOTO CAP: Incoming board officers include: (l-r) row 1, Julia Ivers and Gina Fuscellaro (directors), Eileen Finnigan and Angela Moffa (recording secretaries), Alexis Wallace (second vice president), and Eileen Conner (delegate); row 2, Patti Cullen (director), Lynn Detwiler (delegate); Carol Zemnick and Diane Smith (directors), Tina Engle (treasurer), and Kathy Waddington (president). Not shown are Jenny Lichtner (first vice president), Maureen Menarde (corresponding secretary), and Nancy Montvydas (delegate).

    0 0 votes
    Article Rating
    Notify of
    Inline Feedbacks
    View all comments
    Would love your thoughts, please comment.x