Sydney Kanuga and Jude Hutkin awarded Malcolm P. Crooks Scholarships

This year, two New Hope-Solebury High School seniors, Sydney Kanuga and Jude Hutkin, received Malcolm P. Crooks Scholarships from the Aquetong Watershed Association. The awards were presented by Michael Zolkewitz, AWA’s Vice President, during the Senior Awards Ceremony held at the NH-S High School on June 8th.

In the fall, Sydney will attend John Hopkins University and plans to major in biomedical engineering. Jude plans to attend Tulane University and focus his education on environmental science. “Sydney and Jude were selected to receive AWA scholarships based on their scholastic achievements, community activities and their desire to pursue further education in the physical sciences,” said AWA’s president, Jade Greene.

The AWA established the Malcolm P. Crooks Scholarship in 2013 to be awarded to a civic minded New Hope-Solebury High School senior who has displayed excellence in science and who plans to continue his/her formal education in the broad field of physical sciences.

“The scholarship honors Malcolm’s many outstanding regional and national contributions and has fostered a greater public appreciation for conservation and the value in protecting the environment,” said Les Isbrandt, AWA Director and scholarship committee chair.

“Malcolm’s work in our community will forever serve as an excellent example of how one individual can make a lasting impact.” Malcolm was a lifelong environmentalist and the founder of many conservation-oriented nonprofit organizations including the AWA.

“Both Sydney and Jude represent exactly the type of students the AWA wishes to honor in the Malcom P. Crooks Scholarship program,” Les added. The AWA has given twelve scholarships over the years to deserving students.

The AWA was formed in 2007 as an all-volunteer non-profit organization whose mission is to conserve, preserve and protect the natural resources of the Aquetong watershed. The Aquetong watershed covers about eight square miles and drains its surface and ground water through Solebury Township and New Hope Borough to the Delaware River.

Since its formation the association has served as the voice of the Aquetong watershed to the community and to Solebury Township and New Hope Borough elected officials. To learn more about the AWA or to contribute to the Malcolm P. Crooks Scholarship Fund, contact them by calling 267-714-8170 or e-mailing or visiting

PHOTO CAP: Sydney Kanuga and Jude Hutkin with Michael Zolkewitz.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x