CPCU Society announces Council Rock Fire Safety Contest winners

The Philadelphia Chapter of the Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriters Society (CPCU), a professional insurance educational society, recently announced the winners of the 36th annual Fire Safety In The Home Contest co-sponsored with the Council Rock School Board. 

Students in the Council Rock elementary schools were invited to write essays or create posters on the subject of fire safety during National Fire Prevention Week in October. 

Each school in the district submitted its top entrants for the final judging. 

The panel of judges was comprised of School Board Director Joseph Hidalgo, Northampton Township Fire Marshal Frank Fenton and former Northampton Township Supervisor Pete Palestina, CPCU who is the coordinator of the contest for the CPCU organization.

In addition to the CPCU Society awards listed below, the townships presented special citation awards of recognition and State Senators Tomlinson and Santarsiero and Representatives Thomas and Warren presented commendations from the PA House and Senate. 

In addition, municipal officials of the township/borough in which the winners reside were invited to attend the November 20th presentation to acknowledge the winners with citations from their respective municipalities. 

The winning students and prizes are as follows:

  • First and Second Grade – first place Gabriel Cocco (Goodnoe Elementary); second place Johnny Reilly (Goodnoe Elementary); third place Sofia Ogrizovic (Hillcrest Elementary); fourth place Andrew Sussman (Hillcrest Elementary).
  • Third and Fourth Grade – first place Alison Butkiewicz (Churchville Elementary); second place Trenton Wackowski (Hillcrest Elementary); third place Misa Jeiranashnli (Goodnoe Elementary); fourth place Ichiro Gardner (Hillcrest Elementary).
  • Fifth and Sixth Grade – first place Weston Wackowski (Hillcrest Elementary); second place Sree Allampally (Goodnoe Elementary); third place Brian Kiedaisch (Goodnoe Elementary); fourth place Emma Paschai (Hillcrest Elementary).

First place winners received $100 in cash, all other winners received $50 in cash. All winners received a plaque and movie tickets.

PHOTO CAP: Fire Safety Contest winners at the Council Rock School Board meeting on November 14th.