Trenton funkateers Solid Bronze releasing debut single and remix

The first single from Delaware Valley’s psychedelic funkateers Solid Bronze, “The Invisible Man,” is being released as a limited edition 7” yellow vinyl, including a Lee “Scratch” Perry remix on June 28th.

Their debut album “The Fruit Basket” is being released this September 13th by Schnitzel Records.

The album was recorded by Mickey Melchiondo (Ween, Dean Ween Group, Moistboyz) at his studio in Lambertville, NJ with additional tracking done by the core band members in their respective home studios.

Dean Ween produced the record along with singer/songwriter Chris Harford, and mastering was done by Tom Ruff (James Brown, Lester Young, Screaming Females) for Asbury Media in Asbury Park, NJ.

Solid Bronze’s founding members are Ian Everett and George Miller, who composed these songs as bass and drums duo, using naked rhythm as the focus and cornerstone in the recording process.

George provided all the drums and percussion and Ian was responsible for bass, guitar and lead vocals.

“The Invisible Man” single features Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Michael “Kidd Funkadelic” Hampton (Parliament, Funkadelic) on guitar, and Atlanta-based hip hop artist CLEW on vocals.

Ian said about the project, “Considering that George and I have only been making music as Solid Bronze for a short time, we’ve somehow already had some intense moments come our way. Recording with Mickey in his studio and working with him and Chris Harford to produce our record is along something that still doesn’t fully register with me. All of this and what might be the most surreal moment to me was hearing ‘The Invisible Man’ remixed by the one and only Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry. I got the e-mail while I was waiting in my car and got to hear it loud right outta the gate. It was (still is) pretty hard to wrap my head around what was playing back, he took a song I’ve heard hundreds of times and made it something I could hear for the first time…The man is a living legend and his catalog is unparalleled, it’s a humbling honor to be included.”

PHOTO CAP: Back to front, Ian Everett, George Miller, and CLEW.