CPCU Society announces Council Rock Fire Safety Contest winners

The Philadelphia Chapter of the Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriters Society (CPCU), a professional insurance educational society, has announced the winners of the 34th annual Fire Safety In The Home Contest co-sponsored with the Council Rock School Board.

Students in the Council Rock elementary schools were invited to write essays or create posters on the subject of fire safety during National Fire Prevention Week. Each school in the district submitted its top entrants for the final judging.

The panel of judges was comprised of School Board Director Wendi Thomas, Northampton Township Fire Marshal Frank Fenton and former Northampton Township Supervisor Pete Palestina.

Winners were selected by school year, with first place winners receiving a $100 cash prize, plaque, and movie tickets. All other winners received a $50 cash prize, plaque, and movie tickets.

From first and second grade, winners were as follows – Kaylee Moore, from Rolling Hills Elementary; Sophia Erickson from Churchville Elementary; Alison Butkiewicz from Richboro Elementary; and Adelyn Martin from Rolling Hills Elementary.

From third and fourth grade, winners were as follows – Kylie Williams from Newtown Elementary; Jared Checkoff from Welch Elementary; Brooklyn Cardone from Hillcrest Elementary; and Nicholas Gromosaik from Churchville Elementary.

From fifth and sixth grade, winners were as follows – Sara Tyler from Goodnoe Elementary; Swara Patel from Holland Elementary; Colin Cloud-Schenk from Welch Elementary; and Abigail Newton from Holland Elementary.

The awards will be presented at the Northampton Township Board of Supervisors meeting on December 20th at 7:30 pm, held at the Northampton Township Administration Building located 55 Township Road, Richboro.

In addition to the CPCU Society awards listed below, the Townships will present special citation awards of recognition and State Senators Tomlinson and McIlhinney and Representative Petri and Warren will be presenting commendations from the PA House and Senate.

In addition, municipal officials of the township/borough in which the winners reside will also be invited to attend the December 20th presentation to acknowledge the winners with citations from their respective municipalities.

PHOTO CAP: CPCU Society Fire Safety Contest winners with President-elect of the Philadelphia CPCU Chapter, Paul Griffing (back left) and Pete Palestina (back right).